The Real Estate License Professor

Home Products FAQ's Contact Us How It Works Blog Log In
South Carolina Real Estate License Professor will help you pass

How to obtain a South Carolina Real Estate License

Real Estate Salesman and Broker License Requirements
Residents
Age: Individuals must be 18 to be licensed as a salesman and 21 to be licensed as a broker.
Education:A prospective licensee must be a high school graduate or hold a certificate of equivalency.
I. Sales license applicants - completion of a Commission-approved 60-hour (or more) course in the fundamentals of real estate. Within one year after passing the examination, the applicant must be sponsored by a broker-in-charge and apply for a provisional sales license, which is mailed to the broker-in-charge. During the first year of licensure, provisional salesmen must complete an additional 30 hours of Commission-approved postlicensing education. To upgrade a provisional license to permanent status, proof of the postlicensing course(s), application, and fee ($25) must be sent to the Real Estate Commission
FAILURE TO MEET THESE REQUIREMENTS WILL RESULT IN THE CANCELLATION OF THE PROVISIONAL SALES LICENSE.
II. For a broker's license, completion of 150 hours, 90 hours of which may be the hours required for a salesman's license, of classroom instruction in advanced real estate principles and practices and related topics, and three years of experience within the past five years with a salesman's license or evidence submitted to the Department of a Juris Doctor, Bachelor of Laws degree, or a baccalaureate degree with a major in real estate from an accredited college or university or the Commission may accept proof of related education and at least five years of experience immediately preceding license application in business activities equivalent to or closely related to real estate transactions. Experience There is no licensed experience requirement for a sales examination. For a broker's examination, however, the law requires three or more years of active licensure within the last five years preceding application. To receive recognition for out-of-state experience, the applicant must obtain a Certification of Licensure, including history, education, and disciplinary action from the real estate regulatory agency (commission, board, etc.) of all other states where he/she is or has been licensed before applying for examination. Examination Examinations are scheduled every Monday through Saturday in Beaufort, Charleston, Columbia, Greenville, Myrtle Beach, S.C., and in Charlotte, NC. PSI is the examination provider for the Commission and they publish a Candidate Information Bulletin for approved candidates for the real estate examinations. Candidates receive this bulletin when they receive the examination eligibility letter from the Commission.  Examinees must receive a passing score on both portions of the exam (general and state). Retesting may be scheduled quickly if one or both portions are failed. Miscellaneous I. Commission Review - Any applicant who has been convicted of a crime or sanctioned by any licensing agency or has adverse items on a credit report must reveal that fact on his/her.application. The Regulatory Compliance Department may review the application and then conduct an investigation before an examination can be scheduled. This may result in a delay.
II. Processing Fees - Upon original application, each applicant must pay the following fees:
1. Sales - $25 (plus $10 for a credit report). After passing the examination, applicants must pay a license fee of $25 and to upgrade from provisional status, a fee of $25.
2. Broker - $25 (plus $10 for a credit report). After passing the examination, applicants must submit a separate two-year licensing fee of $250 for a broker-in-charge license or $125 for a broker license.
  1. PSI's examination fee is $63.
Persons not currently licensed in South Carolina must submit certified funds for licensure
Persons Licensed in Other States Moving to South Carolina
All applicants (except residents of North Carolina, Georgia, Kentucky, and West Virginia, see "Nonresidents" below) must meet the requirements outlined previously for residents as to age, education, and experience. Any person who has attended a state Commission-approved school in another state within the five-year period prior to applying for licensure in South Carolina will have that education approved if it meets this Commission's standards for hours and subject matter. Also, applicants who are actively licensed in another state may exempt the general portion of the license examination.
Applicants must also submit with the application a Certification of Licensure, including history, education, and disciplinary action from each state in which they have held a license. NONRESIDENTS Residents of North Carolina, Georgia, Kentucky and West Virginia are subject to Reciprocal Agreements in existence between South Carolina and these four states. These agreements apply to persons who do not intend to move to South Carolina prior to licensure and also address requirements for those moving here following reciprocal licensing. Anyone falling into this category should call the Licensing Department of the Commission for specific information concerning reciprocal licensure. 40-57-100. QUALIFYING EDUCATION AND EXAMINATION. (A) As a condition for and before applying to take a license examination, an applicant for a salesman, broker, or property manager license shall provide proof of having met these educational requirements within the last five years:
1. For a salesman's license, completion of 60 hours of classroom instruction in fundamentals of real estate principles and practices or evidence submitted to the Department of a Juris Doctor, Bachelor of Laws degree, or a baccalaureate degree with a major in real estate from an accredited college or university. Within one year following licensure, a salesman shall provide proof of satisfactory completion of thirty hours of post-licensing instruction in advanced real estate principles and practices. Failure to complete the post-licensing education within one year will result in cancellation of the license;
2. For a broker's license, completion of 150 hours, 90 hours of which may be the hours required for a salesman's license, of classroom instruction in advanced real estate principles and practices and related topics, and three years of experience within the past five years with a salesman's license or evidence submitted to the Department of a Juris Doctor, Bachelor of Laws degree, or a baccalaureate degree with a major in real estate from an accredited college or university or the Commission may accept proof of related education and at least five years of experience immediately preceding license application in business activities equivalent to or closely related to real estate transactions;
3. For a property manager's license, completion of 30 hours of classroom instruction in property management principles and practices or evidence submitted to the Department of a Juris Doctor, Bachelor of Laws degree, or a baccalaureate degree with a major in real estate from an accredited college or university.
(B) As a condition of licensure, an applicant shall submit to an examination which must be conducted by the Department or a designated test provider at a time and place specified by the Department.
1. The applicant must receive a passing grade on the examination, in accordance with a cut-score determination established by the Department.
2. An applicant who fails an examination may be reexamined within the six-month period following initial examination. If an applicant passes one part of a two-part examination and fails the other, the applicant may be reexamined on the failed portion within the succeeding six-month period.
3. An applicant who passes the examination must apply for a license within one year, or the applicant must reapply for and retake the examination.
4. An individual who, at the time of application, holds a real estate license in another state or jurisdiction or whose real estate license in another state or jurisdiction expired not more than six months before application is required to pass only the state portion of the examination to qualify for licensure.
5. The Department or test provider is authorized to collect and retain reasonable examination fees. An applicant for an examination to be conducted by a test provider shall pay the fee directly to the test provider.
South Carolina Real Estate License Exam Courses
Best value Real Estate Study Guide in the USA
"The Professor made my exam seem simple. After a couple days of studying with this site I knew I was prepared."
Catherine Wilson, Columbia
Members
User Name:
Password:
 
Packages Available
Our South Carolina Sales Agent's Exam Study Guide provides access to the License Professor's vast library of South Carolina specific real estate exams.
Our South Carolina Broker's Exam Study Guide provides access to the License Professor's vast library of state South Carolina real estate exams.
Best Deal! Our Combo Package gets you access to BOTH the License Professor's Sales Agent and Broker library of state specific exams.
Visitors
Try our free sales agent quiz online which includes a small sample of the sales agent content you would get as a member of the Real Estate License Professor.
Try our free brokers quiz online which includes a small sample of the real estate broker content you would get as a member of the Real Estate License Professor.
Interested in doing your state sales agent, brokers, or other real estate course? We have partner schools across the United States
Do you know someone that would be interested in the Real Estate License Professor? Let them know about the benefits of becoming a member to our online real estate license exam study guide.
South Carolina Real Estate Links
Home Contact Us Commissions How It Works Glossary Site Map Log In
© 2014 Study Guide Systems Ltd all rights reserved.       Please read our Privacy Policy